Agar Dil Raazi Ho! ( If your heart agrees)

“Agar dil Raazi ho” – the title song of Alia Bhat’s movie Raazi echos our life shenanigans! Do we listen to our heart or the head? After watching this brilliant espionage thriller, oh yes my respect for Alia as an actor grew by many folds and the heart grew fonder of Vicky Kaushal ( Iqbal ) – I have started to follow him on insta! Apart from these instant reactions, during the drive back home I wondered about many things in the movie but pondered about two things :

” Can we ever be so patriotic like this Kashmiri Muslim young lady?” – for our generation what is the definition of patriotism anymore?

” Can we ever sacrifice our kid’s life or happiness ( maybe life is an unthinkable word here) for some greater good? ”

I am not reviewing the movie here because it is definitely worth your watch and I don’t want to spoil that for you!

To watch this movie redefining a Muslim’s patriotism for our country on the first day of Ramadan is not a mere coincidence maybe but God’s way of saying ” Humanity , love, beliefs, loyalty, relationships and patriotism are beyond religions!”

I was intrigued by the REAl ” Sehmat” woman and have been trying to read about her. She had abstained herself from the pleasures of materialistic life so maybe even if she was alive ( I read she passed away just last month) she wouldn’t have probably watched the movie or even revealed her identity to the world. Navy officer Harinder Sikka who wrote the book ‘Calling Sehmat’ on which the movie is based met the real one and his illustrations of those interactions portrays this once a spy girl as “I have made peace with my past and I don’t want to talk about it to the world” types of person. But the most interesting aspect is that after returning to India she did not continue to live in Kashmir but moved to Punjab and lived in Abdul’s house! People who have watched the movie will know that this was her way of making amends to her actions – atonement of life! My heart just said wow!

Another aspect of the movie that really touched my heart was how the relationship between Sehmat and Iqbal was portrayed by these two phenomenal actors.

I for a fact do not like reading a book after watching its movie or vice versa. So the credit goes to Meghana Gulzar for changing that -I am looking forward to grab a copy of the book to read now!

Dil Raazi hai! 💜

Leave a comment