This Weekend to the next!

“After all, Life goes on…” they say and yet we live from one weekend to another.

It is a beautiful snowy Friday evening in my part of the world. Am I coming out of a hiatus because I do not have any plans tonight? My last blog was way back in 2020, life indeed does go on and also the WordPress features advanced, I am still figuring out the options like block inserter, inline images etc !

Weekend is to relax and recharge after the week’s hustle bustle. And yet when there are no plans for the weekend you fret about it. I wonder is this just me? I am sure not. In this new year, I am training the planner/scheduler parts of my brain to take a break on weekends. Do impromptu things or not do anything at all. Some weekends they listen to me and on some they scream at me with plans, schedules and tasks. I would say I am progressing well but probably my husband and son would say otherwise! A study published in the European Journal of Social Psychology says it takes anywhere from 18 days to 254 days for people to form a new habit. Thus to change a habit of so many years of constantly planning would take a little more than that.

Friday ritual – ask a work colleague, ” What are your weekend plans?” Today I asked instead, ” What are you doing to relax over the weekend?” She instantly caught my rephrase and said, ” Now you asked me that, I am really thinking if my plans are relaxing or just about completing the errands, checking off a list etc ” I do agree weekend activities vary based on socioeconomic factors, marital and family status, personality types and probably an exhaustive list. If you have a kid( or kids ) a lot of time is spent taking them to various classes but hats off to those parents who utilize that time skillfully to learn a new thing or play a sport themselves.

Planning for the 2496 weekend hours in a year can be tedious and stressful. At times by habit or otherwise we need to plan for some, which is absolutely okay. Some weekends plans just get made on the fly too. When there is the levy of time to unwind, these things are bound to happen without effortless planning – quality family time, disciplined fitness rituals ( I am currently in love with mine – today was an amazing muscle sculpt strengthening class ) , self care ( my hair was happy to be treated with homemade keratin mask! and hobbies/passion flourish.Lately, I am trying mindfully not to live from one weekend to another. It is not easy but definitely has feel good factor.

I had the writer’s block on how to end this, nudged my husband for ideas. He said ” Learn to live in the moment and breathe.” Hope this stays with you like it did for me 🙂

1 thought on “This Weekend to the next!

Leave a comment